Jose Maria Perez-Macias

What I’m doing now

(This is a now page, and if you have your own site, you should make one, too.)

I enjoy singing in Teekarikuoro, although I am not participating much lately, mostly due to corona. I also joined Toastmasters, where I exercise speech and leadership skills. I play basketball on Weekends, but not as often due to a knee injury.
Looking for a challenge to solve in a motivated team, maybe even lead them? Researching wearables, sleep, snoring, and physiological signals. Deep Learning, Machine Learning, statistical learning... you name it. I do like research and find out things. I do like machine audition and sounds though!

PhD Thesis

After some years of hard work, and I am almost ready with my PhD.


Originally from Spain. Great place. It seems if nothing changes, I might stay here for some more years. Moved here in 2012 and it seems to be the place to be at the moment. My home. I have lived in the US, Germany, and Sweden. Pretty interesting places too.


Doing some super-small projects. My head is full with other things.


  1. I don’t read much more than some books, mostly historical, or life-related. I am lately interested in history, and life stories.
  2. I read a lot of scientific articles, and general science in general. It is a hobby that I like to exercise.
  3. I started to post my book notes. I find it an interesting exercise. Hopefully soon, I will post them here.

Looking for Love!

finally! a lot of love in my live already, but ... sharing is living.

Updated February 9th, 2022, from Tampere, Finland